Bouquet Toss & Garter Removal Ideas
How To Obtain a Wedding License in Virginia
- License Fee: $30.00.
- Marriage licenses are issued by the Clerk of
the Circuit Court. A couple may go to any circuit court in
Virginia to obtain this license.
- Minimum Age: 16.
- If a party is 16 or 17 years of age a father, mother or
legal guardian must appear with valid photo identification.
- The Clerk’s Office
will provide a special affidavit for the parent’s signature.
- Waiting Period: None.
- License Validity: 60 Days.
- Blood Test: Not Required.
- Residency: Not Required.
- Witnesses: There is no statutory requirement that witnesses
be present at the marriage ceremony.
Local Wedding Officiants for
your wedding or vow renewal ceremony. Submit one form to top-rated
marriage officiants in your locality. You choose the best Wedding
Ask a Lawyer Online Now!24 Lawyers Are Online. Ask a Question,
Get an Answer ASAP.
The couple must appear before the Clerk together
to obtain a license and be 18 years of age or older. The couple must
provide the following:
- Valid photo identification (a valid driver’s license with
picture, passport or military identification)
- $30 cash or credit card (MasterCard and Visa only with a 4%
- Their social security number (they do not need to bring
their social security card)
- The full names of each applicant’s parents (including full
middle names) as they appear on their birth certificates. (If a
parent’s maiden name differs from their current name, the
applicant must provide that parent’s full maiden name.)
- Each party must furnish the required information under oath
or affirmation and falsifying any information on a marriage
license could subject the parties to prosecution for perjury.
- Driver’s License
- State issued ID card
- Military ID
- Passport Card
- Permanent Resident Card
- Foreign Gov’t issued Passport
There is no waiting period. You will receive your license
immediately, and may get married as soon as the license is issued.
There are none. You do not have to be a previous or current resident
of Virginia to obtain a marriage license
The date of your divorce or the date of your spouse’s death must be
provided. Bring a certified copy of the divorce decree or death
Marriage License Fees:
The marriage license fees in Virginia is $30.
Some clerks offices accept credit cards with an additional fee. All
No. Proxy marriages are not allowed in Virginia. Both parties must
Yes. You can marry your first or second cousin in Virginia.
Commom Law Marriages:
Common Law marriages are not allowed or recognized in the
Commonwealth of Virginia.
Blood test in Virginia:
There is no blood test requirement for marriage in Virginia.
Getting a marriage license with your new name on it does not mean
your name has automatically changed. If you need to change your last
name, you can use an online marriage
name change kit.
- The minimum age for marriage in the Commonwealth of Virginia
is 16 years for both parties.
- If either party is under 18 years old, consent to the
marriage must be given in person by the father, mother or legal
guardian of the minor.
- The law permits marriage for a Virginia resident under
the age of sixteen if the bride is pregnant when seeking a
marriage license or has been pregnant within the nine months
preceding examination by a physician, and the parent or
guardian of the underage party gives consent.
Officiants in Virginia:
- A minister of any religious denomination may be authorized
by the circuit court to celebrate the rites of matrimony. In
order to obtain such authorization, the minister must produce
proof of his ordination and regular communion with the religious
society of which he is a reputed member. Marriages between
persons belonging to any religious society which has no ordained
minister may be solemnized by the persons and in the manner
prescribed by and practiced in the society.
- The minister or other person officiating at the marriage
must complete and sign the Marriage Register and the Marriage
Return and forward both forms to the clerk of the court who
issued the license within five days after the ceremony is
performed. The Marriage Return is forwarded by the clerk to the
State Division of Vital Records. In addition to the forms to be
returned to the clerk, the officiant may also prepare a
certificate to be given to the newly married couple.
There is no statutory requirement that witnesses be present at the
License Validity Time:
A Virginia marriage license is valid for 60 days from the date of
VDH, Office of Vital Records
and Health Statistics
P.O. Box 1000
Richmond, VA 23218-1000
Please Note: State
and county marriage license requirements often change. The above
information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal
advice. For more information regarding Virginia marriage license
laws and records please visit www.vdh.state.va.us.
Sweetness & Co. Cake Design
XOXO Weddings and Events, LLC
Melissa Batman Photography
Dimples and Cheeks Photography
Keith Reagan Film and Video
Follow Steven's board Splash DJ Wedding DJ Richmond Virginia on Pinterest.